Governor's Awards for the Arts


The North Dakota Governor’s Awards for the Arts program is presented by the Governor’s Office and the North Dakota Council on the Arts (NDCA) to recognize organizations and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the arts in the state. The Awards Ceremony will be held online on February 3, 2021. Tickets will be available in January, and more information will be available soon.

Nomination Form

The Nomination Form is available via this link. The deadline to nominate is December 28, 2020!
Please note, in order to fill out the PDF form on your computer, you must first download the PDF file, fill it out and save to your computer before emailing. 

Nominations are reviewed by NDCA and final candidates are submitted to the Governor for selection of the award winners.

Awards are presented in five categories

  • Individual Achievement (artist, staff, or volunteer)
  • Arts Organization
  • Arts in Education (educator, school, or administrator)
  • Private Business
  • Individual Cultural Heritage Award

Criteria for the awards include

  • Expanding arts opportunities to new audiences
  • Improving the quality of arts experiences
  • Creating an appreciation for North Dakota’s cultural heritage
  • Making the arts more central to education and an integral part of community life
  • Length of service in the arts

2019 Governor's Awards for the Arts recipients

  • Arts in Education: Annette Hovey (New Rockford)
  • Arts Organization: Jamestown Fine Arts Association (Jamestown)
  • Cultural Treasure: John Gross (Napoleon)
  • Individual Achievement: David Borlaug (Bismarck) and Jessie Veeder (Watford City)
  • Private Business: Office Sign Company (Fargo)
Past Award Recipients

2017: Paul Noot (Bismarck), The Arts Partnership (Fargo), Deb Belquist (New Rockford), Bennett Brien (Belcourt), Jon Offutt (Fargo) ~ NDCA would also like to thank Matt Fern, Owner of The Creative Treatment, for filming and creating this wonderful video of the 2017 Governor’s Awards for the Arts Ceremony. The video is available at

2015: Keith Bear (New Town), Linda Christman (Bismarck), Chuck Suchy (Mandan), Marilyn Johnson (Bismarck), Annette Rorvig (McVille) 

2013: Taylor Barnes (Jamestown), Eddie “King” Johnson (Rolla), Dr. Thomas Porter (Bismarck), North Dakota Art Gallery Association (Minot), Greater Grand Forks Community Theatre (Grand Forks)

2011: North Valley Arts Council (Grand Forks), Northern Lights Arts Council (Langdon), Sleepy Hollow Summer Theater (Bismarck), Hardy Lieberg (Minot), The Hotel Donaldson (Fargo)

2009: Bradley Bachmeier (Fargo), Scott Prebys (Bismarck), Agnes Palanuk (Dickinson), Dakota Prairie Regional Center for the Arts (New Rockford), Tom and Frances Leach Foundation, Inc. (Bismarck)

2007: Beth Gigante Klingenstein (Valley City), Little Country Theatre/NDSU Theatre (Fargo), Laurel Reuter (Grand Forks), Cynthia Schumaier-Jelleberg (Belcourt)

2005: Bill Eckroth (Bismarck), Gene Okerlund (Fargo), Glory Monson (Rugby), Walter Piehl (Minot), International Music Camp (Minot/International Peace Gardens)

2003: Mary Louise Defender Wilson (Shields), Jack Dyville and B. Michael Quale (Williston), Grand Forks Public Schools (Dr. Mark Sanford, Superintendent), Trollwood Performing Arts Schools (Fargo)

2001: Dr. Timothy J. Kloberdanz (Fargo), Sue Jacobson (Bottineau), David Hamilton (Fargo-Moorhead), Nelson County Arts Council (Pekin)

1999: Linda Whitney (Valley City), Rebecca Engelman (Bismarck), Gwinner Junior Players (Gwinner), Summer Performing Arts Company (Grand Forks), Hornbacher’s Foods (Fargo-Moorhead)

1997: Fargo-Moorhead Community Theatre (Fargo), Wayne and Bernice Stroup (Garrison)

1995: Cando Arts Council (Cando), Hal and Kathy Gershman (Grand Forks), James D. Ployhar (Fargo)

1993: David Hanna (Fargo), Jean Waldera (Dickinson), Fargo-Moorhead Civic Opera (Fargo)

1991: Rosemary Landsberger (Bismarck), Peter Schickele (New York City)

1989: Alma Studness (Devils Lake), Catherine Mulligan (Fargo)

1987: Frederick Walsh (Fargo), The Grand Forks Herald (Grand Forks)

1985: Vern Bennett (Fargo), Rose and Francis Cree (Dunseith)

1983: Winifred B. Stump (Dickinson), The Straus Company of North Dakota

1982: Fritz Scholder (Scottsdale, Arizona)

1981: Anne-Marit Bergstrom (Devils Lake), Phyllis Frelich (New York City), Anne W. Ness (Fort Ransom), Fargo-Moorhead Orchestral Association (Fargo)

1979: Mary Gray (Valley City), Belle Mehus (Bismarck), Plains Art Museum (Fargo)

1978: Alene Larson (Fargo), Arlene Saugstad (Minot), Prairie Arts and Humanities Council (Hettinger)

1977: John Hove (Fargo), Nellie Solberg (Bismarck), Merton Utgaard (Bottineau), Sheyenne Valley Arts and Crafts Association (Fort Ransom)